1st Annual PSFaM Meeting (2013)

The First Annual PSFaM (Protein Structure Function and Malfunction) Symposium, held from
June 14 – 16, 2013 at the University of Saskatchewan was very successful in that it attracted
scholars and researchers from across Canada and some from the United States. Over 100 graduate
students, guest speakers, and other researchers from the universities of McGill, Queens, Manitoba, Alberta,
Calgary, British Columbia, Michigan, Regina and of course, Saskatchewan were in attendance.

Keynote Speakers

Dr. P. Adams, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, Structural biology and the origin of disease

Prof. W.I. Weis, Stanford University, Mechanism of G-protein coupled receptor activation

Prof. S. Sidhu, University of Toronto, A strategy for modulation of enzymes in the ubiquitin system

Award Winners

  • PRISM Award for Best Oral Presentation by Graduate Student - Ben Bailey-Elkin, University of Manitoba
  • PRISM Award for Best Oral Presentation by Post-Doctoral Fellow - Leann Buhrow, Michigan State University
  • PRISM Award for 1st Place Poster - Oksana Marushchak, University of Manitoba
  • PRISM Award for 2nd Place Poster - Corey Yu, University of Saskatchewan
  • PRISM Award for 3rd Place Poster - Grishma Vadlamani, University of Manitoba
  • CLS Louis Delbaere Award for Best Poster on Experiments Conducted at the CLS - Anson Chan, University of British Columbia


PRISM sincerely appreciates the support of SHRF and the University of Saskatchewan Provost's office for the support which enabled them to host this very worthwhile endeavor.


PSFaM 2013 program